Friendships?

I’m two weeks into my second semester of college. Normally that would mean I’ve had 10 days of class, but I’ve had more like 8.5, because of MLK day + a snow-induced half day. Aw yeah, that means that after 12pm yesterday, I had the freedom to play an unfulfilling game of Cards of Humanity before napping for 2 hours. The snow didn’t really start until the evening, but Georgia’s previous failures with handling inclement weather has made them extra cautious. I’m not complaining. The night of snow was awesome, with a snowball fight between any and every student outside.

What I really want to talk about in this post is friendship. Last night was one of the most fun nights here at Tech, and the thing is that I wasn’t hanging out with my usual group who I spent nearly weekend and meal with. Instead, I was with a group of people I had talked to only a few times in my life. They were all nice and it was just a great time. The reason this is so disconcerting to me is the fact that I spent most of last semester trying to join and be included in this one friend group. However, the more time that I spend with them, the more I realize I don’t feel like I belong. Beyond that basic feeling, I don’t even know if I feel like that these people are my friends. There are a few of people I’ve met in school that I completely trust to have my back, but I don’t feel like that exists with any of the group. Everyone seems to have their own person to talk to within the group and everyone seems to talk shit about other people int he group. It’s all so dramatic and unnecessary. Maybe I’m not the type of person who can deal with chilling in a group.

I’m just trying to figure it out man.

2 thoughts on “Friendships?

  1. One important thing that I’ve learned growing up is that there’s really this thing called the “quality over quantity”. To tell you what, I’ve so many “friends” at school as well. Those are the people who I can talk, laugh, and hang around with but at the end of the day, they won’t really matter that much. Then, there’s also the few people who I talk to very seldom. And I call them my best friends. To be exact, I have two best friends (who aren’t even close friends themselves). But I know that they are the ones who truly matters to me whether we talk every day or once every month.
    My point is, friendship means so much beyond hanging around, chatting, and laughing at all times. Friendship is the deep conversations til 3am. It is the sobbing together because of one another’s burden. It is having lesser time of being together yet knowing that the bond you have will always stay.
    Don’t feel bad about having people who you don’t even know where you stand in their life (and vice versa). The fact that you feel like that toward them makes it clear that you know the answers to your questions. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I always second guess myself and I realize that the people I turn to for answers are the ones who are my real friends, even if I don’t necessarily hang out with them a lot.

Leave a Reply

