On Sickness

As I come back to campus after fall break, I can’t help but think about how different it looks. This isn’t because anything has changed. Nothing has (except for the location of the constant construction). What’s changed is my level of health. I’m sick with some bad cold that can’t really be treated with anything more than rest and time. I am constantly congested, making hearing more difficult. My voice is altered due to the large amount of mucus in my body, so communicating is more energy-intensive, as I must repeat many things I say. Unfortunately, energy isn’t something I have huge supplies of right now since a lot of it goes towards fighting the illness.

In my state, the world appears differently. Everything is a bit more difficult and uncomfortable. Despite this, it all makes me feel… hopeful. If this is the common cold afflicting me, my basic function, my ability to exist as a human being, my view of the world are all being altered by something so small it should be less than insignificant. However, it isn’t. At all. Isn’t it incredible how something as small as a virus can have such power over us?

On this massive planet, could we be like the virus? We are each a single being in 7 billion, but could we have the possibility to change the world as the virus changes us?

Leave a Reply

