8 Weeks

I’m 8 weeks into college. That’s crazy. Even crazier is the fact that I haven’t really written anything on this blog since July. I don’t know if I can even begin to elucidate all the things that have happened in the past 8 weeks or just since my last blog post.

First of all, the most important event was the beginning of college. Despite the fact that move-in day was designated as Thursday for freshmen, I was not exactly thrilled to leave home – as I knew that making friends was always a challenge. However, I moved in on that Saturday night. Since then, I have returned home quite a few times.

I knew that I wouldn’t spend a whole lot of weekends at Tech. I expected that I would split most of my weekends between going home, to Emory to visit my girlfriend or hackathons at schools around the country. For the first 4 or 5 weeks, this did end up being the case, with 2 of my weekends being spent in good ol’ Alpharetta, 2 at Emory and only 1 at Tech. Since then, I’ve spent most of my weekends here at Tech, though I did spend one of them at GT’s own premier hackathon HackGT.

Between the weekends, I’ve been busy dealing with classes and wondering what to do with all the free time between those classes. There is so much to do, yet doing homework always seems like a waste of time when you can go anywhere on campus and just enjoy the wonderful weather outside or enjoy the architecture of the CULC or anything else. Most of my classes have been fairly straightforward, with the exception of my Math class, which has proven to be a struggle. However, I do believe I can do well. I’m already to question if my dreams of a 4.0 are viable, but that’s part of the GT experience.

On the extracurricular front, I’ve been trying to figure out what I’m really into. The organization I’ve been most fully committed to has been WREK Radio, the Georgia Tech Radio Station. I’ve been learning how to work the board and run an hourlong shift at the station while playing tons of music that I’ve never heard of (one of the underlying ideas of the station). I tried to join the newspaper but I was overwhelmed by the number of people who were willing to write for it, making it extremely difficult for me to get an article I would want to write. I also joined the webdev club and Design Club, two organizations that are a part of the College of Computing. I love Design Club and it is making me consider going into UX Design instead of just software engineering. Lastly, I’ve been involved with a branch of the religious organization I’ve been a part of since I was born. It’s nice to see people I’ve grown up with every week.

The social aspect was what I was most worried about. At first, I struggled a lot, especially with the enormous time alone that I had access to. Since then, I’ve become a lot more alone, but I’ve learned to accept it and enjoy it. I’ve made some friends, mainly with people on my floor, but between my girlfriend breaking up with me and my general shyness, I can’t say that I’ve had a huge amount of social interaction here at Tech.

I’ve written a lot and although I’ve just shallowly touched on a bunch of subjects, I do want to come back to some of these things and just talk more about them. I feel like that after such a long hiatus, I need to ease into things but also need to give a lot of writing to fill in my lost time. I also think that my writing on here isn’t the best, but that’s okay. I’ll build my skills back up.

Leave a Reply

