Day 96: Photo Strategy

I got back today from my trip to New York City and of course, I took my camera. I wanted to capture all of the beauty that was the Big Apple and take as many pictures as possible. This resulted in hundreds of pictures over the first few days of the trip. As it wore on, I began to take fewer pictures and stop taking my camera everywhere I went. Today and the end of yesterday, I didn’t even take my camera out of my bag to upload my pictures.

I don’t want to say I’m getting burned out, but I do want to reevaluate my photo strategy. My current strategy consists of me finding a cool scene and taking a thousand pictures of it while walking and anxiously changing settings, focusing, and praying that one of the shots is good. More often than not, the shot isn’t good and I delete it. This strategy nets a lot of good pictures, but is super energy-intensive and tiring after a while, and I don’t feel like I learn a whole lot from it.

In particular, although I do get some good shots out of it, I don’t really get the types of shots that I want. I want to adopt a clean minimalist style to my photos, like the first two pictures in this post. In order to do so, I want to 1) travel with people who are okay with me stopping to take pictures, 2) find a way to carry my camera in a convenient way, and 3) take pictures in a slower, more deliberate way that will net better photos and make me think about what goes into each shot rather than just rapid firing like a goon. My current strategy doesn’t feel like art, but just capturing what I see.

Leave a Reply

