Day 95: A Year Ago

A year ago today, I had just turned 17. Despite the fact that it really wasn’t that long ago, I don’t really remember it. A year ago, things were very different. I spent most of my days watching dumb videos on youtube and trying to learn something related to computer science while intermittently working on college application essays. I was distraught and sad a lot about a weird relationship situation. I was freaking out about senior year, graduation and the uncertainty of what college I would be going to. Most of my conversations with my classmates involved the phrases “holy crap, we’re seniors” or “we’re going to college next year omg” or “2015 always seemed so far away…”

Although a level of confusion still accompanies me concerning the future and going to college in the fall, I feel like I’m in a much better place than I was in a year ago. I’ve improved my writing skills, my communication skills, my confidence and control over my emotions, among other things.

I have no way to quantify it, but I’m certain that I’ve written more in the past year than I have in any other year of my life. With the amount of college essays and drafts I churned out in addition to this project, there is no way that isn’t true. Therefore, I know my writing skills have been improved. My communication skills have been improved by a series of college interviews, as well as talking more to adults, like the parent volunteers who would accompany me in the school attendance office while I served as an office aide. Competing in FBLA competitive events and serving as an officer have also contributed to this. My confidence has been built up, as I’ve had successes in FBLA and my other activities. My improved relationship with my girlfriend has helped with both my emotional control and confidence, as I’ve been able to learn about myself through her.

The point is that I am a different person today from the 17 year old Nikhil. I’ve gotten better and the 19 year old Nikhil will look back at 18 year old Nikhil and see another person. Hopefully these constant improvements will make me the best person I can be. I talked about a lot of stuff that I got better at to improve my life, but I want to be able to build characteristics to help others next.

Leave a Reply

