Day 90: Top 1% of Millennials

EDIT: The author of the piece responded to my comment and added a link to a site that would calculate what percentage of millennials you are based on income.

I recently wrote a piece about the term millennials and the generation in general, mainly decrying its excessive use of the term as an advertising buzzword to gain additional views. I would link to it, but I’ve been waiting for the publication on Medium that I submitted to’s approval so it will show up publicly.

I wanted to bring that up because I just read an article called “How I went from underemployed waitress to the top 1% of millennials in 3 months.” Unsurprisingly, the word millennial drew me in. This isn’t because I want to learn some other bullshit conclusion about my generation and how it’s super lazy and selfish like they usually do, but because I wanted to know how she arrived at that number.

What exactly was the metric for judging people that she could decide that she is the top 1% of a group of 80 million people? The article mentions the phrase maybe once other than the title, where the author simply reiterates that she is in the top 1%. It’s unclear what the basis of this measurement is. It really upsets me, and I’m not sure why. It’s just an article, but I came in looking for an explanation for the exciting title. This happens all the time, but when it’s in an article that is thousands of words long, you’d think that the title of the article would be discussed and have relevance. I learned her strategy for gaining success and how she changed, but I want to know where she is now, since it’s one of the most important parts of the story.

I could give an advice about how I went from having a very narrow worldview and little knowledge to being the top 1% of all millennials. What the audience doesn’t know is that I’m in the top 1% at writing pseudo-deep blog posts on nikhilrsethi.wordpress.com. The audience also doesn’t know that I’m a 17 year old who is about to enter college. I could talk all about my specific strategies for learning everything in the world, even if I haven’t. The obvious lacking information from the article just destroys any sort of ethos the author had, and makes it impossible for me to take it seriously.

Leave a Reply

