Day 76: Photography

I don’t think I’ve written a blog post about photography before. The art form frequently gets forgotten as an art form, instead thought of as a way to hold memories in a visual format. The proliferation high quality smartphone cameras and the lowering prices of larger framed cameras have made the art much more commonplace than ever before in history. Digital photography is so simple to get into, making it a super accessible creative outlet.

I’ve had a dSLT camera for over 4 years now, but have taken an incredibly small amount of pictures with it. Despite my proliferating interest in photography, my Sony has just gathered dust, while my instagram feed fills up with decent shots I took with my iPhone. The common phrase is that “the best camera is the one that you take with you” and I want the best camera to be the best camera in every possible way. That is to say, I want to improve my pictures by taking them with superior equipment and actually make that investment in the camera worth it.

For that reason, as I depart for Chicago, I will be taking my camera. Who knows if I will have a chance to use my camera, but I want it to be with me so I can take even one picture along the way. I’ll do my best to figure out how to use it properly and share the pictures on my blog in some way. I wanted to post about it to create a level of accountability so I would actually commit to something for once. Let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

