Day 73: The Liberal Arts

One of the main gripes I have with my soon-to-be college is the incredible focus on technology. This is unsurprising, considering the title of Georgia Institute of Technology, yet it’s a gripe all the same. In my college application process, I ended up applying to a whole lotta Ivy League schools. This was partly due to the prestige and more so because of the amount of flexibility these schools would grant me.

The top schools for computer science are mostly all technical-focused; however, Ivy League’s hold prestigious technical programs, while still being a part of their liberal arts education. My love of the arts, especially music and literature, made these schools seem so much more desirable than the technical safety school that I knew I would end up at. Unfortunately, the reality of my weak application hit me in the form of a fleet of rejection letters, reminiscent of the Enola Gay forcing the surrender of my preppy collegiate dreams.

I remembered this dream after a few months due to this Medium story of a Yale student who is choosing to study English before entering the same world that I hope to enter, that of start-ups and venture capitalism. The land of t-shirts and Macbooks on the West Coast holds an enormous population of students from the elite eight schools, regardless of their major. These students hold a level of freedom unavailable to others.

Of course, this freedom isn’t undeserved. These students, to get into these colleges, performed at a level beyond the norm and will probably graduate with a greater understanding of Python and C than I could ever have even with their Art History or Classics degree. I just can’t help wonder what it would be like to be as they are.

Leave a Reply

