Day 72: Money and Charity

In the last few weeks, I opened my first ever bank account and earned money for myself for the first time in my life. The amount of satisfaction that comes with logging into my account and seeing a sum of money underneath my name is immensely satisfying, and just makes me want to make more money. It’s strange because there really isn’t much for me to buy, yet I still want to amass it. As a result, I’ve been trying to figure out a way to set up a form of income outside of my internship. I’ve been thinking about trying to freelance at writing or maybe learning to make mobile applications and try to get some downloads.

However, I don’t think I should get too attached to this money and show my thankfulness for having the opportunities to receive it by donating some portion of it. I’ve had issues trying to decide what charity to donate it to. With major charities giving very little to the actual cause, I want to make sure that I donate to a charity that will actually do something and I’m not just throwing my money out the window.

At the same time, another issue comes up. How can I decide what type of charity I want to donate to? Do I want to help to find a cure for heart diseases or cancers or assist those needing mental help or contribute to efforts to advance the lives of the homeless or those in developing nations? It’s almost a question of morality as I wonder who have suffered more and need the help more. The awful lives that those in developing nations lead frequently can draw parallels with those of the homeless in the US. At the same time, diseases and ailments involving cancer, heart health and mental health all provide incredible amounts of strife in their own manner. In a world filled with so many problems, where can I start?

Leave a Reply

