Day 66: Chet Baker

Over the last few days, there has been one album on repeat on my Spotify account, Chet Baker Sings. Released in 1956, it’s the debut vocal album of American jazz musician Chet Baker. The album is filled with smooth vocals about love over a smooth jazz composition.

One morning, as I was getting out of bed, I was browsing through Spotify’s suggestions to me and remembered the couple of days where I listened to nothing but Miles Davis and decided to try jazz again. I chose Chet Baker because of a modern artist named Chet Faker. Australian Chet Faker chose his name as an ode to the original singer and also produces amazing music.

I’ve talked a lot about how I’m open to all types of music. However, despite my openness, it’s rare that I will find something that I like so much that I will continue listening to the artist or genre after an initial obsessive period. For example, there was a period of time where I listened to nothing but experimental beats like Burial and Boards of Canada. However, since that time period, I don’t think I’ve listened to a single song belonging to that genre of music.

It remains to be seen if jazz will stand that test. Currently, I’m listening to it mixed in with other music, which bodes well as it shows that it fits into my personal library. Today I went from listening to Young Thug’s Barter 6 to Chet Baker. Whenever I can switch from one very different genre to another, it probably means that I like both of those genres with equal amounts, but have a sudden mental shift towards one. My beats phase was mainly brought upon by hopes of being more concentrated on my studies, but didn’t have that same level of attraction that jazz brings me, with the smooth layering of horns and piano and a light coating of Chet Baker’s voice.

Leave a Reply

