Day 38: Teachers Pt. 2

My last post about teachers only talked about teachers through elementary school, so I wanna talk about some of my teachers from middle and high school.

Middle school is an interesting time for everyone, as 11 through 13 year olds try to figure out their identity while going through hormonal issues. At this time, it’s really beneficial to have quality teachers to make the time a little less stressful. One teacher that really stood out was my 7th Grade Science teacher Mrs. Farr, an older woman who seemed to exemplify the stereotype of a crazy cat lady. Despite this, she was an awesome teacher and gave us an entire unit where we studied birdwatching and calls. Personally, I still can identify a Mourning Dove’s distinctive call. The class was my first real introduction to biology, which continues to be one of my favorite subjects. Her interest in the subject made the class a lot more interesting.

Another important middle school teacher was my math teacher for 7th and 8th grade as well as quiz bowl coach Mr. Swanson. Mr. Swanson was one of the most interesting teachers I’ve ever had. He had a very distinct Ivy League vibe about him, with his daily wear of sweaters and sophisticated manner of speaking. Despite the fact that his lectures were often the most boring things in existence, his laid back attitude towards math meant that as middle schoolers we were given our first opportunity for us to decide if we were gonna work for grades instead of the norm of being inundated with practice problems.

High school held many quality teachers, who have certainly influenced who I am as a person and my general worldview. First, there was my AP Government teacher Mr. Fernández, who managed to take one of the most boring subjects and turn into the most intriguing class of the first half of my four years. After that class, I finally understood the political climate of the United States and became much more aware of the world.

Next, there’s my AP Art History teacher Mrs. Magill. Once again, I entered the class thinking I would be bored by the subject matter and once again (thankfully) I was proved completely wrong. If any one class has completely changed my life, it was AP Art History. I was your classic math-science nerd who didn’t see the value in the humanities until I took this class. Mrs. Magill’s passion for the subject was contagious, making me hyper-aware of the beauty in the arts and world around me. I also have written more college essays about art history than any other class.

Lastly, there is my illustrious AP Computer Science Teacher and FBLA Adviser Mr. Hatcher. He wasn’t the best CS teacher in the world, but definitely super fun and super dedicated to FBLA. Spending 4 years in FBLA made me grow very close to Hatcher, and making fun of his misuse of various SAT caliber use never got old. I learned a lot from him and would never have gotten to travel to Anaheim, Nashville and Chicago (this summer) for FBLA without him.

Without a doubt, teachers are one of the most vital parts of society and need to be appreciated a greater amount in order to increase the amount of influential teachers in student’s lives.

Leave a Reply

