Day 27: Winging It

When you’re a senior in high school, every single time you talk to anyone for the first time in a while, you will be met with a few questions.

“Where are you going to school?”

“Georgia Tech.”

“What are you going to study?”

“Computer science. I want to be a software developer out in San Francisco. My brother works there.”

I’ve given this spiel more times than I can count with a level of confidence that is completely fake and unrealistic. Right now, I want to do computer science but am perfectly aware how unsure I am about that. I’m hardcore pretending to know exactly what I want to do when it’s completely likely that I will either graduate with a different major or end up working in something completely different. After seeing my brother go from pre-med to computer science, I know how easy it is for people to change their focus. Just the other day, I was talking to two professional leading a technology startup and both of them started in a completely different field than the one they are currently in.

To be honest, I’m just winging it because that seems like the best strategy. Apparently, everyone else is doing it and falling into peer pressure is awesome. People say that the best strategy is to “fake it until you make it” for confidence, which is why I decided to go this path. I’ve always had issues with confidence and so, like so many other people, am pretending I know what I’m doing.

This post is really short but also super repetitive and pointless, so I’m just gonna stop here and need to stop writing posts just to link to an article I just read and liked.

Leave a Reply

