Day 14: Prom

Prom was a whole ordeal on Saturday, so I didn’t have a chance to write. Yesterday, I spent the whole day being sick and working on a super long literature project that I procrastinated on, so I didn’t get a chance to write either. As a result, today is a super special 3-posts-in-one-day day. Woohoo!

Let’s talk about prom. As most of you know, prom (short for promenade) is a formal dance near the end of the year for juniors and seniors. Generally, it’s given greater importance to seniors since it’s considered one of the ways for them to celebrate their graduation, one of the final events that defines the college experience.

My prom night began at 4:45pm, when I arrived to take pictures at a local golf course with the rest of my prom group, which consisted of over 20 people. All the forecasts said that we would soon see a torrential downpour of rain and possible tornado warnings, but thankfully none of that actually happened. For over an hour, we stood in awkward poses with fake smiles plastered on our faces. Afterwards, with sore faces, we took a party bus to eat some dinner and then traveled to prom with blaring, deafening music throughout.

Upon reaching the Fox Theatre (the venue) we found hundreds of our classmates, most of them just talking with some loud pop hits. The theme was Arabian nights, featuring some pillows on the ground and some other rather small decorations that made the theme rather unconvincing. Most importantly, the back room had a slew of snacks like candy and ice cream. After a 20-30 minutes, I found myself on the dance floor and waving my arms and legs like a crazy person to the beat of the song. I may have bruises on my feet from my dress shoes, but it was so worth it. As we left, sweatier and more tired, we saw a bunch of our classmates getting reprimanded for bringing alcohol to the event, which is rather foolhardy on their part. The dance had very few rules and no underage drinking was definitely one of them. I find it silly that they could even think that would be a good idea. We returned to our home city a little later, with quieter music and a more relaxed group and hung out some more before going our separate ways. All in all, it was a solid night.

If you wanna check out some pictures of me and my smoking hot date, check out this link. I feel like I’m getting a little more personal with this post, but that’s totally okay considering the fact that this is a personal blog and it literally has my name in the title.

Leave a Reply

