Day 13: Writer’s Block

It’s been a solid 12 days, but I’ve finally hit writer’s block. Every day, my general strategy has been to brainstorm a little bit throughout the day. Then, I usually get a good idea about I want to write about. I sit down and then write about something completely different from what I decided on initially. Today, for some reason or another, that just didn’t happen. I didn’t brainstorm anything, so I’ve been trying to come up with something to write about for the last hour and a half.

I had been discussing my writer’s block with my favorite person in the world (who needs to update her blog) when she told me to write about writer’s block. I have a long history with writer’s block, which is why this topic seems like a solid point of discussion. I’ve had many failed blogs over the years since my first blog at the end 8th grade, with writer’s block inevitably being the reason for my giving up on it. Most days, I would forget about the blog’s existence. When I finally remembered it, I would sit down to write and be completely lost. I’m sure I’ve googled “what should write about” hundreds of times as a result of this.

Unfortunately, writer’s block isn’t limited to just blog posts. In writing assignments throughout school, I’ve often found myself frustrated and ready to chuck my laptop across the room because of the mentally crippling writer’s block. In all honesty, I don’t think anything has ever made me cry as much as writer’s block.

After years of writer’s block, I’ve found (1) that lit essay isn’t worth my tears and (2) that putting too many restrictions on how I want to write won’t get me anywhere. Because I would always want to write the perfect essay or blog post on the first try, I would reject nearly everything that popped into my head and not actually write anything. Therefore, the solution is to not do that. Just write and forget about everything else. Drafts exist for a reason.

2 thoughts on “Day 13: Writer’s Block

  1. I am trying to write something from last week but I am not able to. I can totally relate to your post. I definatly have a writer’s block

Leave a Reply

