Day 6: Potential Creative Outlets Part 2

I’m really glad I decided to split the last post into two, because now I don’t have to come up with another topic to write about! So here are the rest of my potential creative outlets that don’t have to do with writing. In case you missed part 1, it’s over here.

Music


Music is extremely important to me and always has. It’s how I connect with lots of people and just is always there for me when I need it. I find a great amount of power in music and its creation so I hope to explore the process of making music. Yet, this once again is rather vague. I’m thinking of 2 possible ways of exploring music. The first way is to learn how to play guitar and practice singing. I’ve sang a little bit in a religious setting and for fun, but I think I might be able to get somewhere if I start to practice more. Alternatively, I could attempt to learn how to produce electronic music or hip hop beats. There are tons of DAWs available with just as many places to learn how to use them. I have friends who picked this up relatively quickly, so I might try to follow their example.

Photography


I really like taking pictures because it’s one of the purest creative outlets, a way to capture the world as I see it in a particular time and frame. I take photos all the time right now, but I want to learn more. Also, most of my pictures right now are just from my phone camera despite the fact that I have a fully functional dSLT that I barely know how to use. I take pictures with it sometimes but they are rather lacking and I have a lot to learn.

Graphic Design


I’m not sure if graphic design is the right word, but the main idea is that I want to learn how to use Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop to make cool designs and logos as well as graphs and infographics to show interesting information I encounter. I’ve always had an affinity of analyzing various forms of data in my life, like the Sleep Cycle app on my phone to monitor how I sleep or last.fm to track my music listening and being able to make visualizations would be really cool.

Drawing


This one is pretty out there since I can barely draw anything, but I think drawing is something that can be learned with enough practice and is a useful skill to have, especially if I want to get into graphic design or just front-end development in my quest to become a software developer. Who knows.

Podcasts


Podcasts are a really strange medium. Growing up, I often heard the word, but thought of them as an old, unused medium. How wrong I was. In recent years, every single organization seems to have a podcast, from production companies and comedians to news organizations. Certain podcasts like Rhett and Link’s Ear Biscuits and the Nerdist podcast are simply based on interviewing notable people and having conversations. These conversations are mostly unplanned and frequently extremely intriguing. Seeing all of the interesting people in my life and the many awesome conversations makes me want to just record them and let the world hear it. This is less of a creative outlet sort of thing and more of a side project, but I thought I might as well include it.

Leave a Reply

