Time

I am 16 years, 5 months and 8 days old. That’s 6,005 days, or approximately 144,141 hours. To my young, ignorant mind, that seems like a really long time. Based on the fact that the average life expectancy in the United States is 78.64 years, I am likely to experience 4 more time periods as long as my entire life thus far. Plus, life expectancy includes people from all classes, statuses and health qualities. Coming from a family devoid of health problems, living a moderately healthy lifestyle including a vegetarian diet, it’s possible that I will live even longer! As a result of all of this, I will probably end up having a lot of TIME (pun most completely intended/attempted).

What will I do with all of that time? Even now, I find myself having more time than I know what to do with or having the energy or ability to do something with. As I age, I feel like I will have nothing to do or will end up just wasting a bunch of time, which would be quite unfortunate, considering all that could potentially be done. Yet, in my 16 years and the next few of my life, I will make some of the biggest decisions that may decide how I will spend my time in the future. How hard I work in high school and where I get accepted to college could change everything. Along those same lines, how I perform in college and my ability to get internships and work experience could determine what my first job is and my first job could determine my next job, and so on and so forth. Thus, my point is that there is so much time in each person’s life, but the first few matter so much more than the rest. Is this a logical idea or an outdated concept stemming from biological expectations of sexually mature offspring to live their lives in such a way?

Leave a Reply

